top of page

Do You know... RPG Maker ?

That's not a trick I promise ! That's clearly not an article like others I've written but I hope it could interest you.


If you pay attention to my last articles, you should have noticed that I spend more time playing solo games these last days. That's of course not I don't enjoy spending time with you :) but I try to find some good stuff for You !


I've already written about www.FAP-nation.com, the website where I can find some new games and to summarize, I guess I could share games between two categories :

1) Step by step games

2) Free travelling games


Don't look for these two categories, they only come from my mind !


To explain, the first one is a game where you click to run the script and time to time you make a choice which can change the story. Graphics are quite nice and you have cinematics when you unlock something.


The second category is more like an usual RPgame where you can run a map and you more free to write your story in the game.


Each category has its strengthes and wicknesses but I prefer the second one.


It was a pretty long speech to introduce you the subject of this post ! The "free travelling games" are more often made with a software called RPG Maker. I had no clue this software existed before I tried these games.


RPG Maker is a japanese software created first by ASCII and then by Enterbrain and it allows users to create games. It's supposed to be easy handling and you can add patches to improve the simple pack game.


First of all you create a 2D map like on oldest games.

and then you create action on objects or you can add events.

You can add pics or cinematics !

Then you just have to create a good story, make the script, create scenes and event and put all this stuff in RPG Maker ! That sounds pretty easy but I'm sure it's a loooooooooooooooot of work and I'm really impressed by what guys using it do.


I wish I could try the software and create my own game but I've tried to catch it and it's not free :'(

I've seen it's something like 70€ so that's a pity but I'll keep playing games people do and I'll enjoy it ;)


If one of you have already used this software, please let me know how it is. I really wonder if it's hard or not.



On Top
New Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page